Tags

, , ,

Image

Not long ago I found out that this Phenomenal Poet passed away “quietly at her home” (Reuters). I am happy to know that Imageshe was able to live to see the age of 86 and died peacefully. Lots of people have not been that fortunate.

Maya spent most of her life telling the world her story. She was surely a woman of her word. “There is no greater agony than bearing an untold story inside you.” – Maya Angelou.

I have to agree with a tweet from Russell Simmons: “RIP to one of the greatest women this world has ever known. Thank you Maya Angelou for all of the gifts and knowledge you gave us…” Maya is definitely one of the greatest women this world has ever know. She made her voice heard and we are lucky to still have the words of Maya. She has been known for her pen passion. Some of my favorite quotes from Maya Angelou are below:

 

 

 

 

“I would like to be known as an intelligent woman, a courageous woman, a loving woman, a woman who teaches by being.”
― Maya Angelou

 

“If you don’t like something, change it. If you can’t change it, change your attitude. Don’t complain.”
― Maya Angelou

Image

“The first time someone shows you who they are, believe them.”
― Maya Angelou

 

“I can be changed by what happens to me. But I refuse to be reduced by it.”
― Maya Angelou

 

“Any book that helps a child to form a habit of reading, to make reading one of his deep and continuing needs, is good for him.”
― Maya AngelouImage

 

“Stepping onto a brand-new path is difficult, but not more difficult than remaining in a situation, which is not nurturing to the whole woman.”
― Maya Angelou

 

“Success is loving life and daring to live it.”
― Maya Angelou

 

“My mother said I must always be intolerant of ignorance but understanding of illiteracy.”
― Maya Angelou

 

“No one can take the place of a friend, no one.”
― Maya Angelou

 

“I’ve learned that I still have a lot to learn.”
― Maya Angelou

 

“Love is like a virus. It can happen to anybody at any time.”
― Maya Angelou

Image

“The ache for home lives in all of us. The safe place where we can go as we are and not be questioned.”
― Maya Angelou, All God’s Children Need Traveling Shoes

 

“Love life. Engage in it. Give it all you’ve got. Love it with a passion because life truly does give back, many times over, what you put into it.”
― Maya Angelou

 

“My life has been one great big joke,
A dance that’s walked,
A song that’s spoke,
I laugh so hard I almost choke,
When I think about myself.”
― Maya Angelou

 

“Ain’t nothin’ to it, but to do it.”
― Maya Angelou

 

“A certain person wondered why
a big strong girl like me
wouldn’t keep a job
which paid a normal salary.
I took my time to lead her
and to read her every page.
Even minimal people
can’t survive on minimal wage.

A certain person wondered why
I wait all week for you.
I didn’t have the words
to describe just what you do.
I said you had the motion
of the ocean in your walk,
and when you solve my riddles
you don’t even have to talk.”
― Maya Angelou, I Shall Not Be Moved

 

 

 

 

“Pretty women wonder where my secret lies.
I’m not cute or built to suit a fashion model’s size
But when I start to tell them,
They think I’m telling lies.
I say,
It’s in the reach of my arms
The span of my hips,
The stride of my step,
The curl of my lips.
I’m a woman
Phenomenally.
Phenomenal woman,
That’s me.”

– “Phenomenal Woman”

 

