Great. It popped up again. That same old question. A question I have been asking myself for years. Yet I still have not answered it in an acceptable way. ‘Why do I eat meat?’ After lots and lots of reasoning. I came to the conclusion that I eat meat for two reasons. Firstly I choose to do so and secondly eating meat is habit built by family tradition. Eating meat is the easy way out for me. No extra thoughts are needed to toss a slab of meat into an oven, saucepan or onto a sizzling grill.

 

No I am not a vegetarian, vegan or anything like that. I have always enjoyed eating my vegetables, and always knew that if meat was to stop being produced I could live off vegetables. Being the harder way out for me really meant not knowing how to prepare meatless dishes. I’ve tried my hand at a few meatless days here and there but I am not 100% there yet. Not even sure if I am up for all of the title baring. For now I am fine with being me.

 

Today I made a chickpea burger. After I ate it I felt like I could run a mile! It did not leave me with a “hopeless lagging feeling of disgust.” I actually felt like I was eating to live and not living to eat. I felt good about myself and hopeful for my long-term health.

I know it is just one meal but I believe every day counts. I am more conscience about my eating habits. No, I am not trying to disappear. I just want to be healthy. Dying a food related death makes no sense to me. When I have full control over everything that I decide to consume.

 

Last time I tried the whole go meatless thing, I was not getting full. I felt hungry and did not know much about the veggie fillers and other things that I am more aware of now. So far I think I am off to a good start.

 

Do you have any advice for me? Is there anything I should know about eating little to no meat before I truly embark on this journey? Drop a comment below. I need all the help I can get! Thanks.

