Smashed-Smartphone-520x292

Four months ago I sold my smartphone with the intention of buying a newer model. Being the enterprising person that I am. I initially bought two cellphones and sold the other one for the price of both. Let’s just say I got a really good deal. In a nutshell, my smartphone was a gift to myself. I made it my business to learn how to use the latest mobile apps and how businesses could use it for their promotions and branding in general.

It was fun waking up in the middle of the night to a whatsapp message and constantly hearing a pinging sound ringing in my ears. I especially enjoyed sitting up in bed for an extra hour or two, as I kept insisting I was just “checking one more message.”

The truth is, only about 20% of the messages received are really worth reading and spending every 2 seconds checking for “important messages” just does not add up. Ideally, I think the average/non-marketer should be checking his/her emails no more than twice a day. For the business managers and owners, checking emails or messages once a day should suffice. The only exception to this is if you have a profession that really calls for constant communication such as being a real estate agent, an insurance agent, or someone on the go.

If you ever become addicted to messaging as I did, the best thing you can do is sell your smartphone and downgrade to a basic cellphone. One that does exceptionally well at keeping your battery alive for more a few days at a time! This fella, I have lasts me up to two days with a single charge.

I’ll shamelessly post the model of my cell phone below with my old fashioned camera!

Isn’t she a beauty? This is my BenQ Siemens. Oh, did I mention that it has a camera? It’s the greatest! I have text features and can receive calls too! Oh boy!!

benq

How are you making it these days? Is your cell phone ruining your life? By the way, I do know I could remove notifications and put my device on silent and other stuff. As a recovering smartphone social addict, I felt the need to be on top of everything the second anything popped up I wanted to be the first to know!

